Having a professional license means renewing it regularly. It applies to RNs, LPNs, and other nursing licenses. In the case of nurses, there are strict requirements a nurse must meet and keep track of to keep their license with the Arizona State Board of Nursing. The most important requirement is remembering renewal dates, as failing to renew on time can have serious consequences.
AZ Nursing License Renewal
APRNs, RNs, and LPNsmust submit an application to renew their license every four years.The sooner a nurse renews their license, the less expensive it is.
For example, a nurse who renews their license on time (by April 1) pays a$160 fee. Should they decide to wait on renewing, or if there is a delay, and they renew by May 1, the fee becomes$210.
Each month there is a lapse in renewing the license. There is an additional late fee of $50. This fee caps out at $200. If the license fails to be renewed by August 1,it will expire.
Once a nurse decides to renew their license,they must include a verified statement with their renewal application. This statementdeclares whether or not the nurse has been convictedof a felony. If there is a conviction, it must also include the date of discharge from the sentence.
After submitting the above and having it approved for renewal, the nurse will get anactive renewal license for the next four years.
Arizona Board Renewal Requirements for LPNs and RNs and more
Of the listed requirements listed for renewal, applicants must only meet one of them. These practice requirements are:
- The nurse must have practiced for 960 hours or more in the last five years.
- Within the past five years, they must have graduated from a nursing program and received a degree.
- In the past five years, they must have completed a refresher course approved by an Arizona Board.
- The practicing individual must have obtained an advanced nursing degree Nursing Assistant License Renewal in the last five years.
Licenses Renewal for Nurse Assistant
The rules for a nursing assistant are a bit different. In Arizona, nursing assistant must renew their certification every two years. To renew their license, they have until the last day of their birth month and must pay a $25 renewal fee. Every year the license fails to be renewed, there is a late fee of $25, with a cap of $100.
Like a registered nurse and practical nurse, a nursing assistant must include a verified statement. If there is a felony conviction, it must also include the date of discharge from the sentence. Once approved, the nursing assistant will have their license for two years from the last day of their birth month.
Advanced Practice Nurses (APRNs)
Advanced Practice Nurse Practitioner, Certified Nurse Midwife, or Clinical Nurse Specialist’s certifications expire when their RN license expires.
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA)
CRNA privileges expire when their RN license expires. The Board must receive official certification/re-certification from the National Board on Certification & Re-certification of Nurse Anesthetists to renew CRNA privileges.
Certified Medication Assistants License Renewal
Certified Medication Assistants (CMAs) have to renew their nursing medication certification every two years by the last day of their birth month. They must have worked doing medication assistant duties for at least 160 hours in the past two years.
The inactive list is a list of nurses who are not practicing and thus do not need to pay renewal fees. Any licensed and in good standing nurse can request to be on this list. To begin practicing again, the nurse must submit a renewal application with fees, including the verified statement regarding any felony convictions. Once approved, they can practice again.
What You Need to Know
Arizona is a compact nursing state, which means they belong to the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact. There are a number of member states, and if you are a resident of Arizona and practice in Arizona, you can use your license in any state that is also a member of the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact.
So,Can a Nurse Continue to Work While Under Investigation by the Arizona Nursing Board?
Yes, a licensed nurse in Arizona can continue to work while under investigation by the Arizona Board of Nursing. If an employer were to verify an Arizona nurse on NURSYS (the national database verifying nurse licensure), the license would show that the nurse is currently under investigation.
The only time a nurse’s license would indicate an investigation would be if the Arizona Nursing Board formally disciplined the nurse.
Chelle Law is not affiliated with the Arizona Board of Nursing. If you have questions about how to renew your license or license renewal you should contact the Arizona Board of Nursing
If you’re interested in learning more about our Arizona Nursing Board Complaintservices and how to protect your rights, set up a consultation with Chelle Law and our Arizona Nursing Attorney. Reach out to us today.
Arizona Nursing Board Complaint
f you are a nurse in Arizona,you may have questions about how the Arizona Board of Nursing (AZBN) handlesan Arizona Board of Nursing Complaint and investigation. A registered nurse (RN), nurse practitioner (NP), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA), Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), or nursing programs may find themselves at the center of a complaint and or investigation of their license or certificate.
Complaints can come froma patient, employer, or even another nurse. While investigations can occur because of a criminal conviction, disciplinary action by another state’s nursing board, or the self-report of a substance abuse problem.
CLICK HERE FOR ARIZONA NURSING BOARD ATTORNEY REPRESENTATION
- Can a Nurse Continue to Work While Under Investigation?
- Do They Investigate Every Complaint?
- How Do I Report a Nurse For Unprofessional Behavior?
- How Long Does an Investigation Last?
- Investigation Notice
- Nurse License Compact
- What Does the Board Do?
- Will Having an Attorney Make You Look Guilty?
Responding to State of AZ Complaints and Questions
After receiving a complaint or self-report, a nurse gets anInvestigative Questionnaireandnoticefrom the Board requesting additional information and a response to allegations found in the complaint. From here, the AZBON assigns an investigator to the complaint, and they begin to collect evidence.
Thedocuments and evidencecollected include the following:
- Patient medical records
- Employment files from the nurses’ employer and business
- Criminal records
- Interviews of people associated with the Board Complaint or nursing program. (These interviewees can include the patient, nursing director, colleagues, etc.)
State Board Complaint Appeal
Once the Arizona Board of Nursing receives all the necessary documents, statements, and evidence, the Board will review the case and vote on a decision. The Board of Nursing membersmay also close the case or file formal charges.
They will refer the investigation to an administrative hearingif they file formal charges(for instance, due to the denial of a nurse’s application for licensure). They hold the Arizona Nursing Board Appeals and hearing in front of an administrative law judge at theArizona Office of Administrative Hearings.
Nurse Licensure Complaints
If the Board determines formaldisciplinary actionis necessary (for instance, failing to report a misdemeanor charge or conviction), it will happen after the completion of an investigation. It’s the job of the Board to review any complaint alleging a violation within the scope of the Arizona Nurse Practice Act. Thus, at an Arizona Nursing Board meeting,the Board will vote to determine the outcomeof each investigation.
The Board (they do not utilize a disciplinary committee) can vote on a non-disciplinary outcome (which is not generally public) or vote to offer the nurse formal discipline, such as:
- CASE DISMISSAL: The Arizona State Board of Nursing may dismiss a case if they determine there wasn’t a violation of the Arizona Nurse Practice Act.
- LETTER OF CONCERN: A letter from the Board expressing concern the nurse’s conduct wasn’t ideal. However, the behavior doesn’t necessarily violate the Nurse Practice Act.
- ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY: The Board may impose an administrative penalty to nurses of no more than $1,000.
- REVOCATION:If the Board revokes a nurse’s license, the nurse will be unable to practice for a minimum of five years. After the five-year period has ended, the nurse will need to reapply for their license. Should the nurse reapply for their license, they’ll need to demonstrate that the grounds for revocation (substance abuse, mental health problems, criminal convictions, etc.) are no longer an issue.
- VOLUNTARY SURRENDER:The nurse voluntarily gives up their license. The benefit of a voluntary surrender is that the Board is usually willing to reduce the time until a nurse can reapply. Usually, this is between two to 3 years.
- SUSPENSION:Suspension stops the nurse from practicing until the Board of Nursing lifts the suspension.
- PROBATION:The nurse receives an Arizona Nursing Board Probation through a Consent Agreement. The nurse must do certain things (drug testing, work supervision, counseling, continuing education). Alternatively, the nurse must refrain from doing things (unsupervised nursing like home health, working under the Nursing Licensure Compact, using alcohol, etc.).
- DECREE OF CENSURE:A decree of censure is the lowest level of formal discipline. There are no probationary requirements, but they will list the Order on the website for five years.
- CIVIL PENALTY:Similar to a Decree of Censure, the nurse can be fined (up to $1000 per violation). The Civil Penalty is listed for five years as well.
Consultation with Chelle Law
If you’re interested in learning more about ourArizona Nursing Board Complaintservices and how to protect your rights, set up a consultation withChelle Lawand ourArizona Nursing Attorney. Reach out to us today.
Main Reasons Why Licenses are Revoked
Mental health issues—if the nurse is unsafe to practice due to this. Such as violating an order, heinous crime, or substance abuse. Those are the main reasons why they would revoke a nurse's license. A nurse would rarely have their license revoked due to clinical issues.
7. How many times may I take the NCLEX®? In Arizona, you may take NCLEX® as many times as necessary to successfully pass. However, if at the time of licensure, has been more than 2 years since you completed the clinical portion of your nursing program, you will be required to take and pass a nurse refresher course.How many hours do you have to work to keep your nursing license active Arizona? ›
Frequently Asked Questions about the 960 hours / 5 years practice requirement (Article 3) for RN / LPN licensure renewal. Do other boards of nursing have a practice requirement? The requirement of the Arizona State Board of Nursing is similar to requirements of other boards of nursing.How to keep nursing license active when not working in Arizona? ›
- Practiced as an advanced practice registered nurse for 960 hours or more in the past five years.
- Hold an active Arizona RN OR current RN license with multistate privileges in another compact state.
- Hold active national certification.
Some of the most common reasons why the state Board of Nursing disciplines a nurse include: Alcohol or substance abuse. Failing to monitor a patient adequately. Lapses in moral character.What types of incidents could potentially jeopardize your nursing license? ›
Unprofessional Conduct, Professional Misconduct, Incompetence, Gross Negligence, Dereliction of Duty or Ethical Violations.What happens if you fail NCLEX 3 times? ›
Candidates who fail the NCLEX three times must take a remedial course. They can then repeat the NCLEX exam within six months of completing the course.Which state has the hardest Nclex exam? ›
The NCLEX is a standardized exam and is the same type of test for everyone in the country. No state has a “harder” exam than another state.What are the three pass fail rules for NCLEX? ›
- 95% Confidence Interval Rule: This rule is the most common for NCLEX candidates. ...
- Maximum-Length Exam Rule: Some candidates' ability levels will be very close to the passing standard. ...
- Run-out-of-time (R.O.O.T.)
Further Limitations on Nurse Schedules
Even when an employer requires overtime, they cannot allow a nurse to work longer than a 16-hour shift in a 24-hour period.
Except as provided in section 32-4301, a registered and practical nurse licensee shall renew the license every four years on or before April 1. If a licensee does not renew the license on or before May 1, the licensee shall pay an additional fee for late renewal as prescribed in section 32-1643.What states can you work in with an Arizona nursing license? ›
- Arizona: Learn more about an Arizona Nursing Board Investigation.
If you maintain an inactive status for longer than five years, you will have to prove competency to the State Board of Nursing. Unless you have been working in another state, you will have to retake the national license exam to prove you can work as a nurse.How do I reactivate my AZ RN license? ›
How do I reactivate my inactive license? To reactivate an inactive license, you must do so through the Arizona Nurse Portal.How many CEUs do Arizona nurses need? ›
As a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse in the state of Arizona, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license.Which of the following is the most frequent reason for revocation or suspension of a nurse's license quizlet? ›
This is legal accreditation. Accreditation by voluntary agencies is not required for a school to exist. Which of the following is the most frequent reason for revocation or suspension of a nurse's license? alcohol or drug abuse.Which of the following reasons would cause a nurse to lose his or her license? ›
Dangerous drugs or alcohol consumption during work-hours. Delegating nursing tasks to unlicensed individuals. Patient abuse and neglect. Failing to report a colleague's misconduct.Which behaviors by a nurse can result in the suspension or revocation of the nursing license? ›
Unprofessional conduct serves as a blanket term of behaviors and actions that can result in suspension or revocation. Unprofessional conduct can involve everything from having an affair with a superior to using inappropriate language with a patient. It can also include sleeping on the job.Which example may be grounds for suspension or revocation of a license to practice medicine? ›
A physician's license to practice may be revoked or suspended as a result of (1) conviction of a crime, (2) unprofessional conduct, and (3) personal or professional incapacity. Each of these conditions is defined by state statute.